Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree?

Due to the development of digital technology, it is now possible for viewers to see historical artifacts and artistic works on computers. Therefore, many people believe that the Internet can replace the need for museums and art exhibitions. In my opinion, I disagree with this opinion since museums or galleries are still of great importance in the modern world.

To begin with, when using a computer, users can access quickly different types of information about a work of art from the author to the documents with a click of the mouse. It also provides customers and has no opening time limits as well as unrestricted information data, which cannot be served by museums and art galleries due to incompetence. Take The Factory Contemporary Arts Center as an example, it only opens from Tuesday to Sunday from 10 am to 7 pm, which can be inconvenient for visitors who do not know this schedule. Therefore, that's is the reason why many prefer to have these items displayed by a computer.

Nonetheless, in fact, online-based information can never express adequate values of historic objects, while people can be given the opportunity to contemplate great artworks in actual museums and galleries because the information provided by them is more verified and reliable. Furthermore, museums and galleries support people to develop more a sense of respect towards the history and art of our country. Admiring real historical objects or artworks can help people learn more about their own country’s history and aesthetic field, thus making them cherish part of their national identity. Therefore, online museums and exhibitions cannot convey as much information to the viewers as real objects do.

In conclusion, although the role of the online presentation of historic places and artworks is undeniable, museums and exhibitions are significant in society because of their beneficial effects on our life.

304 words.