Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the modern world, replacing leisure activities by using technological devices has gained in popularity. Regarding this matter, it is argued that museums and galleries are not necessary because of seeing works of art by a computer. Personally, I partly agree with this statement for various reasons.

There are advantages of watching historical pictures and photographs with a computer. It is a convenient and economical way for enabling people to be viewers at home. Specifically, they can no longer allocate much time to traveling , which creates more chances for people being preoccupied with their work. Moreover, they can save their money on travel or entrance fees. Consequently, virtual tours to museums are beneficial to those who are financially unstable including students.

However, museums and art galleries serve as indispensable means of entertainment. First, visiting exhibitions of paintings can engender an empirical sense. In other words, direct observation can give people factual feelings about aspects of pictures and objects thereby developing an appreciation for the artists. Second, museums are symbolic destinations of a region or a country. accordingly, they will be ideal places attracting foreign tourists, which can have a substantial impact on profits on the tourism industry of that area. Therefore, museums and art galleries offer benefits to both individuals and society.

To conclude, while the advancement of technology can bring about convenience and money saving, museums and galleries also have influence on the experience of people and the economy. It is highly recommended that the government should organize more exhibitions in different regions so as to facilitate participation of local people.