Some people feel that history is of little use, others feel that history is important as it will help us in the present. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that the study of history is of little benefit whereas others believe that studying history helps us to know the present. This essay, however, does not agree to the former view because our freedom has its roots buried deep in our history.

At first, it seems plausible that a few think that there isn’t much gains to knowing about past of our world which constantly races against a single very popular phrase amongst current generation i.e. “What’s Next”. With the advent of millennials constantly on their heels on route to achieve their dreams of being the top newsmaker in media either by wealth or success, History really does not seem to be included in their repertoire. Can Mahatma Gandhi teach coding or data analysis? That is a tricky question to any Historian.

However, on a deeper contemplation, History has more to it than one believes. For instance, Mahatma Gandhi following his own principles has brought an entire nation to fight for our country against all odds with perseverance and true grit of character at the cost of being shot down by his own fellow man. History is a more neutral record of all the facts belonging to bygone days with true consequences depicting a cause and effect relationship of human morale and its progress over centuries to our present modern society.

To summarise, there is simply no denial that we owe much of our comfortable lives to the brave deeds of past leaders along with a cautious note of their faults as a lesson never to be repeated making us wiser with every read.