Some people prefer to buy local products while others prefer international products. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the booming rate of economic developments, there are two opposing standpoints of consumers, while one particularly indicate the significances of domestic merchandises, the other highlight the potential of international brands, in relating to customers’ preference. This essay will argue how maximizing the use of local products can bring more to the table.

First of all, there is no doubt about what continental companies can offer, especially product variety and availability to suit the need of every customers. For example, providing numerous selection of fully-stocked commodities, from high-end clothing lines to exotic fruits from all corners of the world. Most of the time, however, these products are heavily taxed, hence the over-charged price tag. Besides a wide range of selection, consumers are more likely to gravitate toward foreign brands due to their popularity, which is not necessarily a good thing. Apple can be seen as an exemplar, since a large number of their new product models are pre-purchased before hitting the shelves. Although most Chinese consumers believed that it is a social norm to own Apple’s devices, there is no need to have the latest model as a status symbol.

On the other end of the spectrum, however, patriotic consumers are more comfortable with choosing to support the local’s market, which would provide more jobs opportunities for their inhabitants. To explain this, these people believe that verified sources of valued produce, which is more preferable than frozen or canned food in supermarket chains, ranging from artisan baked goods and wines to seasonal fruits and vegetables, could not be found elsewhere rather than from their region. Along with that, a great number of locals can also get a well-paid job in their own town. Furthermore, promoting and patronizing local business can also raise awareness of the native culture and cuisine. For instance, the Vietnamese’s iconic staple Banh Mi from street vendors can outweigh Mac Donald’s fast-food chain anytime with outstanding locally sourced ingredients and a rock-bottom price.

In conclusion, I concur with the idea of developing the socioeconomic state of a region by endorsing their business will ultimately bring positive effects in the long run, which will prevent local businesses from dying out and provide a stable growth for the local community.