Some people think that economic progress is the only way to measure a country’s success, while others think that there are other factors, which can be used to measure a country’s success. What are these factors? And among them, which one is more important.

The measure of one’s country’s success is based on many aspects, and not just economic status alone. There are factors that contribute to make it a successful country as a whole, such as the overall health status of every countryman, safety and security, and technological advancements. However, among all of these factors mentioned, I believe that the total well-being of every individual living in a country is the greatest determinant.

To start with, a country’s success is based on the wellness of the total population. A country that has an increased number of mentally and physically ill people would have useless economic progress because their people have difficulties in achieving their utmost potential as a part of the community. For instance, the government needs strong, emotionally stable and healthy soldiers to help enhance the security of their country. For this reason, the country needs to provide first the physiological and health needs of the population in order to build a society that is successful.

Another factor that makes a country progressive is the safety and security it has. This aspect is to be considered as a measure of ones' country’s success because there are many threats that hover around the world. These threats are not only man-made, such as wars and terrorism, but they could also be from natural causes, such as storms and earthquakes. Countries that are far more advance have people who live their lives carefree because they are protected. Their people can enjoy having vacations without the fear of being attacked in the streets. Also, when people are assured that they are safe and secure in their place they can live well and meaningful lives.

Lastly, a country’s progress is measured by its technological advancements, such as internet access, sustainable transportation system and environmental-friendly machines plantations. The internet access gives information to the people and it makes communication accessible to everyone, hence making the community connected to enhance social and economic activities. This also true if the country has a reliable transport system, people can travel faster thus making more time for other important life tasks. In these advancements, it should also be noted that there should be a consideration with the status of the environment, for the destruction of natural resources is not an indication of a country’s success.

Overall, a country’s success is multi-factorial. This is not only measured by the economic status it has but with the overall living experience of an individual, their safety and security and convenience they experience.