Today single-use products are still very common. What are the problems associated with this? What are some possible solutions?

These days, it’s still apparent that single-use items are popular in the global market. Using these products is most of the time costly and has negative effects on the environment due to increased waste production, however, there are things that could be done to mitigate these effects, which will be discussed further in this essay.

To begin with, the consumption of one-time use products brings more costs and it has a negative effect on the environment. In other words, when someone consumes a single-use item after it served its purpose, it’s no longer useful thus, it will be left as a waste product. For instance, disposable bottles containing water or other beverages, after consumption is disposed of, then left, which increases waste accumulated in the surroundings. This scenario is common in metropolitan areas because of the number of people and the popularity of drinking beverages. Most of the time, buyers are not aware that they are spending more money on these products when they could save by drinking refill in their own liquid containers.

Undoubtedly, this issue regarding cost and wastage of single-use items can be solved or mitigated. First, companies, manufacturers, and the government could implement a program or laws where products could be reused or recycled. One example is when all shopping malls use eco-friendly bags instead of plastic bags. Another example is implementing laws that restaurants should not serve single-use plastic straws and cups, instead, people are encouraged to bring their own reusable straws and tumblers. Second is recycling these single-use items to another useful product. Recycling is encouraged in items such as water bottles because they could be used as plant pots and other decorative materials. Eventually, people will get used to adhering to these environmentally friendly activities with constant promotion and encouragement from authorities.

All in all, it will be hard to totally eradicate the use of single-use products but there are ways to lessen its wastage and with public awareness, people will be encouraged to reuse and recycle.