Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether advertising is an effective way to attract consumers. While advertisements are ubiquitous nowadays, I believe that advertising plays an important role in arousing people's buying desire.

On one hand, there is no doubt that adverts have become a part of our lives and we can see them everywhere. For example, advertisers display adverts in the gap of TV shows, place billboards in bus stations, and post ads on social media platforms such as Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. As a result, we have gotten accustomed to the existence of ads and we also habitually ignore them or just give them a glance. For this reason, it is obvious that advertisements are not as appealing as they used to be.

On the other hand, the fact that almost all companies conduct propaganda through advertisements or commercials indicates that advertising is a powerful means that convince consumers to buy their products (Ironically, that is what makes advertisements so common). Take the case of KFC, one of the most successful fast restaurants in the world, which spends 65% of its budget on advertising for new menu items. As a consequence, it always appeals to a lot of potential consumers to purchase their new products. In addition, a good advertisement that leaves a strong impression on audiences definitely persuades them to consume. For instance, we may choose a product from a certain brand because of the interesting plots or actors' lines in its commercial.

In conclusion, despite the fact that we have gotten used to universal advertisements, I strongly hold that advertising is still the best way of publicity.