Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that advertising is increasingly becoming popular these days and some people argue that it is too common and we no longer notice it. In my opinion, I believe that advertisement is still a powerful tool in terms of encouraging people to purchase things.

There are several reasons why people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Firstly, we can see ads anywhere, ranging from TV and phones to public places like subways, markets, and motorways, so we tend to consider them to be normal things and not care about them anymore. Furthermore, people usually link advertising to frustrating stuff, especially when they do not like those products. If people watch an ad on their phones a lot of times, they may feel annoyed about it and probably think that it is a bad product.

However, I believe that advertisement plays an important role in encouraging and making people to purchase items. Nowadays, there are a lot of products, so advertising is necessary for companies to introduce their new products and then sell them. Besides, some advertisements such as promotions, big sale campaigns can encourage people to buy stuff even if they do not really need it only because companies offer a very good deal. For example, Black Friday is an occasion when many companies advertise and give big discounts and it is true that these programs persuade a lot of people to buy things.

In conclusion, although some people now take advertising for granted and argue that it is no longer effective, I personally believe that it is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things.