In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is clear that people could expect to live longer than ever before thanks to advances in science and technology. There are several reasons why some people argue that a nation with elderly people could create problems for society. Although there are both positive and negative consequences, I believe that there are far more benefits.

When elderly people are becoming increasingly popular in many countries, governments would have some problems in tax system. People live longer, means that there are more people are eligible to receive a pension, in other words, the more money will be used for that instead of developing infrastructures or the economy. Furthermore, young people have to look after their elderly relatives and therefore they have a burden with regard to finance.

On the other hand, an ageing population also have various benefits in developing of a nation. Firstly, although there are many people who were 60 years old or over cannot work in harmful, heavy environment like working adult, they completely do other jobs related to research and education. They are areas that need people who have vast knowledge and experiences. Therefore, these people can contribute to society with a lot of value. Moreover, elderly people also do other things like taking care of children when their parents go to work. Finally, they are a huge model for younger generations especially when they reached the success in their field. Warrant Buffet is a typical example for those people.

In conclusion, there are several problems related to an ageing population that governments have to address, I believe that there are various benefits if society has more elderly people especially experts, scientists or influencers.