Some people say the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal in public places. Other people say that this is not enough and that other measures are needed.

Discuss about both views and give your opinion

In the information age, while some people think that making smoking illegal in society places is the best way to tackle this situation, others believe that only one way is not enough to alleviate this issue and more measures are needed.

A growing body of research says that if making smoking illegal in any public places seems to become a new law, it can alleviate the number of smokers. To be more precise, anybody must pay a sum of money to smoke in society and there are not too many people who are ready to break the law. Taking Vietnam as an example, according to the Vietnam Institute research, there was a significant downward trend when governments and authorities applied this law into individuals’ life, from more than 64% to 37% in total. Whenever there are not some strengths to individuals, they will get rid of this out of their life immediately.

However, it will not be enough for any countries if they want to reduce the huge quantity of people not to smoke in society. This means that governments and authorities need to apply stronger solutions into citizens’ life such as paying more fine for their bad action, even taking into a crime. Besides that, educating their awareness, especially young people and teenagers, is one of the effective solution to solve this pitfall. For example, in Turkey, there is a surprising result after half of a year, the governments and authorities applied more laws into people’s life, is that they prevent a plethora of people to smoke who could smoke in society, even people who are ready to pay a fine.

Overall, there are too many adverse results we can see in the future to the smokers, so the governments and authorities need to enact more new laws to tackle this problem as soon as possible. In my opinion, I reckon that more laws need to apply soon to alleviate this issue faster.