Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number

of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public

health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that raising the number of amenities related to sports is the best way to make public health better, while others argue that other steps should be taken. While increasing the number of sports facilities helps to improve community health, I believe that raising awareness about the benefits of sports on people’s health is a better way.

On the one hand, creating more places to play sports allow more persons to participate in games as everyone gets a chance to play. Therefore, more people are playing means that more persons are becoming healthy. For example, in 2010, Canada had increased the Hockey facilities from 40 to 70 to attract more public to involve in the hockey game, according to CBC news. However, I think that it is better to make people aware of sports advantages on their health.

On the other hand, using other measures like providing information about the beneficial effects of games on our body helps the public to understand the importance of sports in our lives. They should be told how playing a game boosts our immune system and that immunity helps to fight various diseases like the common cold. For instance, to raise the importance of games in students, the Public Health Agency of Canada, made it mandatory in high schools in Canada to provide education about the benefits of playing games on health.

In conclusion, although providing more game facilities improve public health, it is not the best way. Other measures, such as providing more knowledge about the beneficial effects of sports on one’s health, are better.