Task 2: Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Several people claim that more sports centres should be built in order to raise public awareness about health, while others insist this method would not make that much of a difference and that other solutions should be implemented. This essay will discuss both views before stating that there are other suggestions for upgrading public health besides building gymnasiums.

On the one hand, some people argue that the establishment of more sports facilities would encourage citizens to actively join gymnastics sessions. In more detail, if there are many sports arenas with high-quality equipment available for the public to make use of, they will find working out more accessible and convenient, which results in them having the motivation to do regular exercise more frequently. For instance, some free-of-charge outdoor gyms spring up in parks in Hanoi, a densely populated capital of Vietnam, prompting people of all ages to come and exercise. Not only can this activity help them strengthen their physical health but it also benefits them mentally as they have a chance to socialize and expand their network with other peers.

On the other hand, it is believed that other measures should also be taken into account to improve the inhabitants’ health condition. Specifically, the root cause of deteriorated public health is people’s unconsciousness of the need to maintain a healthy body, leading them to own poor living habits. Thus, it is obliged that knowledge about the importance of a healthy body is imparted (truyen dat) to each individual. For example, the authorities may consider some methods such as promoting the use of organic and nutritious products or conducting propaganda aiming at increasing social awareness about the mandatory of having an active lifestyle, which shall lead to a positive transformation in people’s cognition towards the necessity of consuming wholesome food and taking up sports activities regularly.

In conclusion, both views have valid points, however, I strongly believe that there are many resolutions apart from building more sports centres that can contribute to the overall improvement of public health. That is why the government must innovate ideas to support their citizens to pursue better living conditions.