Some people say that the best way to improve public heath is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are require

Discuss both these view and give your own opinion

Public health is one of the important social issues that success or failure of government can be judged with. Nowadays, however, public health is in danger due to unhealthy life style of people, among them, lack of exercise has been mentioned as one of the most contributor. Therefore, many people argue if sport facilities are accessible for more people public health will rise. Others, on the other side, put forth counter arguments and believe more than sport facilities are needed to boost public health. In this essay I will discuss both sides and will give my opinion.

Firstly, the accessibility of sport facilities like sport equipment, athletic fields are paramount. For example, in IRAN there are not many parks and sport clubs which could be used for working out. In a city like Tehran, there are few sport clubs in every area which are not affordable especially for lower income citizens. Secondly, existence of sport equipment in public places like parks may motivate and catch people’s attention to exercise because many people might learn from others for example how to use the equipment.

Turing on to the second group who believes in the essentially of extra steps, merely existence of the sport facilities might not scale up public health because there are various kinds of influential factors contributing in public health. For example, receiving required nutrition, having enough sleep and reducing stress and anxiety and so forth are also considerably important which should be provided by governments through mass media for raising awareness on the importance of exercise in health, providing food baskets which contain the basic needs (carbohydrates, oil, vitamins, protein and fiber), and subsidized sport clubs for lower income families.

To recapitulate and give my opinion, in addition to providing sport facilities for citizens, governments should support their citizen for more basic elements of healthy life style like job creation, fighting with poverty, providing education for more people etc. which paly directly or indirectly their roles in healthy life style.