Some people say that healthcare should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income. The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, healthcare is receiving more and more concern among people. There are some arguments that people should not be given any healthcare services without paying fee irrespective of their economic status. In my opinion, free medical care should only be received by a particular group of people.

As far as I am concerned, universal healthcare should not be distributed freely to everyone. It is because not any nation can afford to pay for every patient’s treatments as well as the salaries of thousands of hospitals' staffs such as doctors and surgeons. For example, in some developing countries, the government has to address several heated problems including education, environment and employment so the national budget cannot be fully poured into healthcare. Moreover, if provided freely, healthcare services may be overused by crowds of people. They may become over-dependent on the fact that they can get medical care at no expense and go to hospital even in unnecessary cases, leading to hospitals getting overloaded. Therefore, it is necessary that people should be responsible for their own healthcare service fees.

In addition, I believe that universal healthcare should only be doled out to a special group of people. In particular, those who are living in poverty and are disabled may not have enough money to pay for hospital’s services which may prevent them from going to the hospital. This can cause their health to be deteriorated which does much harm to themselves. Those people have to suffer from several adversities and disadvantages in their life so free healthcare should be provided to encourage them to take care of their own health.

To conclude, only providing free healthcare for poor and disabled residents can help reduce the burden on national budgets and hospitals and at the same time, can also ensure that everyone gets their health taken care of properly.