In some countries around the world, men and women are having babies late in life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, in a number of nations, especially in developed ones, people have a tendency to give birth later in their life to further their education and career path. While this trend may bring certain benefits, I believe that these benefits are eclipsed by potential disadvantages to the babies and the society.

That many couples refuse to have babies until they are older may be because of the development of technology, making it possible for people to give birth at all ages. For example, thanks to the introduction of IVF treatment facilities, women can have babies at the age of 40, giving them more time to focus on their career. Moreover, this helps parents0 to be well prepared financially and emotionally before having children. It is because after giving birth to a child, parents have to face more challenges including extra expenses and household chores, which may overwhelm those who do not have stable economic and emotional status. Therefore, gaining financial stability and parental experience before giving birth will allow the parents the ability to provide their kids with the best care and education.

However, this benefit can be outweighed by its harms to both pregnant women and the born kids. This is becase women who get pregnant when being older are slightly more likely to come down with gestational diabetes and high blood pressure, and there is a little higher risk of the child being born prematurely and even having chromosomal abnormalities. In addition, this trend may also affect the economic prosperity of a country because when senior generation retire, there will be not enough young people to replace their positions. As a result, there is a possible lack of employees, which may suppress the development of a nation economically.

To conclude, due to giving priority to careers and having modern technology, people can now have babies later in life, which helps them to take better care of their children. However, I believe that this will cause children’s suffering from potential physical deformities and a shortage of workforce for the society.