Some people say that History is one of the most important school subjects. Others think that in today's world, subjects like science and technology are more important than History.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is an arguable issue which subject should be given more priority in the schools, History or Science. Although History cannot be skipped completely, I believe that schools should focus more on technology-related subjects.

The benefits of History can never be denied. From the History-related books, children can learn many things about their country. For example, they can understand about the country’s independence, biographies of the famous political leaders or important political affairs. Without this knowledge, no person can be a proper citizen, no matter how much technological knowledge a person has. Besides, students can be motivated to love their countries and work hard for their countries if they learn about the glorious stories of the famous political leaders. School is the best time for knowing about the country’s history because after passing the school, students will be busy in higher studies or jobs, resulting in an avoidance of the history-related matters of the country. So, History should be a compulsory subject in the schools.

However, schools should focus more on the future career of the children. In today’s world, the demand of the technologically skilled people is much higher than the people who are from arts background. From the childhood stage, if children learn about science and technology and apply the knowledge in their day-to-day lives, by the time they reach adult stage, they will be skilled in a particular technological area. For example, consistently gaining IT knowledge from the childhood stage will result in them being skilled in operating computer which is the pre-requisite of most corporate jobs. So, schools should include more science-related books than arts in the curriculum.

In conclusion, schools should not completely ignore History as every citizen must have knowledge about the country’s history. But, teachers should focus more on developing the technological knowledge of the children for their future careers.