Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whilst some people claim that schools should mostly focus on History as it is essential to learn from the past and be aware of our national identity, others argue that subjects such as science or technology are more practical for our contemporary world. In my opinion, all these areas of study are as an equal importance since society requires them all.

On the one hand, there is a conventional belief that History is the most significant subject at the school, and all students should concentrate on it. This is because it has always been vital for communities to learn from their past, and try to make their ancestors' experiences work at the present time. In this way, people will find their way through a developed society much easier. For instance, different nations can learn from previous revolutions to avoid their errors in a similar situation at present. In addition, nurturing students who are knowledgeable about their past is a kind of support for a country's culture. In fact, it helps a nation to preserve their cultural traditions and pass them to the next generation. To illustrate, the students who are not aware of their history, may easily be lured by the features of another culture, and lose their own national identity.

On the other hand, some persuade the pupils to focus carefully on other subjects rather than history, such as Science or Technology. The reason for this is that they believe these studies are more practical in our modern world, and they are the only way of understanding it. This can stem from the fact that post-modern communities are so appealed by the technology that nothing else can explain our attitudes and help people to improve their quality of life. For example, when choosing a major of profession, parents generally encourage their children to go for Science and technology to have better job opportunities.

From my point of view, each society needs all sorts of professions and experts to make progress. In other words, lacking a certain study at schools is like ignoring a part of society's need. For instance, without experts in history a community will not be able to discover new stuff from the past.

In conclusion, although Technology and Science have become more practical in our times, other subjects are still required for a society to grow.