Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that in today's world subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While it is true that one should always keep looking for the future and not get stuck in the past, it is also equally important for us to keep the past in mind.

In this essay, I will be putting forward my thoughts on why the claim that science and technology are more important than history is wrong.

Firstly, while learning a new technology, if we pick up a CBSE book for 8th standard and start reading, we will find the history of the technology about which we will be

studying in the upcoming classes. This is done to make a student understand the source of the technology because if a student knows why or from where this

fascinating piece of science art originated they will understand it much better rather than terming it as magic. For instance, in chemistry, we learn all the atomic models,

even the wrong models as well. So, with history, we get to understand the present better.

Secondly, learning history is not only about gaining knowledge of how our previous generations spent their time but also about learning from them. Digging up the past helps

us to re-learn what was lost with time, the Sanskrit manuscripts kept in India which are successfully translated into modern language already showcase the mighty hill of

knowledge the ancient civilisations had with them, however, most of the manuscripts are yet to be translated.

Although, the possible argument "learning history does not help in future endeavours as with technology enhancements the challenges we face are new, so learning past will

not help us" is somewhat true when considering the advancements of AI and computers. However, humans are considered intelligent because of our ability to link the past with

the present and make more informed decisions, even if the problem we are facing is new we will still have a single or a combination of experiences that will lead us to

solve current issues.

To sum it up, learning history is for the benefit of the current generation. Knowing the consequences of mistakes before we make them is the reason we study history while

learning science is for the future.