Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people view History as the most significant subject in the school syllabus, while others place more emphasis on Science and Technology. While all of these subjects are important for the education of young children, I believe that it is better to prioritize Science and Technology because of their relevance to our time.

On the one hand, History is considered essential because it teaches students fascinating aspects of the past. For example, during related lessons, schoolchildren can be informed of the traditional customs and cultural heritages that their forefathers have practiced for centuries. They can also know about the heroic wars in which previous generations fought valiantly to either defend their homelands or expand their national territory. Such interesting historical factors would likely stimulate a sense of cultural preservation and patriotism among the students, and make these young individuals be proud of the achievements their ancestors accomplished in the past.

On the other hand, Science and Technology are generally more valued in the modern era because of their widespread applications. This is because the majority of heavy machinery and computers used in several fields of the global industry, such as agriculture and manufacturing, advanced medical apparatus installed at hospitals worldwide, and even vehicles commuting on the streets all function following scientific and technological principles. Therefore, students need to learn all these pieces of knowledge to know how to operate modern equipment effectively and use them in a way that brings advantages to both themselves and the world.

In conclusion, both History and Science and Technology are advantageous in their distinct ways. However, in my opinion, the latter subjects need to be taught at school in greater frequencies and be highly appraised because they are applicable in many industries of the modern world.