Some people say that individuals who make a lot of money are the most successful. Others think that those who contribute to society like scientists and teachers are more successful.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is argued by a number of people that individuals’ wealth is the most significant factor to determine success. However, the opponents claim that this concept is represented by those who contribute to the sake of the society. I would concede that the latter lays a solid foundation to the definition of success.

Admittedly, the desire for a good material life quality has instilled in the public certain prejudices and criticism about personal achievements based on the level of wealth. It is prevalent that in these days, individuals’ image of professionalism and luxury is likely to accompany their achievements. For instance, an illustrious billionaire will be generally regarded as a successful person according to his company’s lucrativity and influence on the market. Undoubtedly, the result-oriented society will consider this group as a role model of success due to what they have obtained and their greater sense of satisfaction about life. After all, being financially free to afford a pleasurable life condition is the fundamental need of each person, which is the reason for the advocates of this view.

For another, I believe that those who pursue meaningful outlets should be regarded as the definition of success owing to their contribution to society. Human progress, however, is unable to continue without the involvement of knowledgeable individuals such as teachers and researchers, both of which carry the duty to enlighten and gear the others toward a better life. This group does not derive material gratification from their jobs but the personal joy from the full exercise of their abilities. Yet, from a psychological perspective, this could be regarded as a form of satisfaction when people do it for passion and find true achievements behind their success that generate value to the others.

To conclude, although both views have some certain validity, I believe that one’s ability to shape the world should be held in higher esteem for its foundational merits to our society.