Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The development of human civilization has entailed a number of serious problems affecting the environment around us. While some argue that the most important environmental issue of our era is the dramatic decline in the global diversity of flora and fauna, I agree with those who think that there are other more vital challenges related to the environment that we need to take into consideration.

On the one hand, the disappearances of many species of plants and animals over the past time have had tremendous effects on the ecosystem. Advocates of this argument often argue that each species has their role to play in the balance of nature and the food chain, and thus, their extinctions would damage the Earth’s ecosystem in various ways. For example, many scientists have predicted that if there are no more bees to pollinate plants, our agricultural industry would collapse, and as a result, hunreds of millions of people around the globe would die because of famine. Furthermore, loss of plants and animals would deprive future generations of their chance to see, learn about and coexist with nature. In some of the worst scenarios, our children could only learn about tigers, rhinos, pandas and other magnificent creatures through textbooks and pictures.

However, I side with those who believe that there still are other pressing environmental problems that need to be resolved or alleviated. Firstly, global warming is a serious global issue that are not being prioritized enough. Because of the rising world temperatures, humans, animals and plants nowadays have to endure a great number of extreme weather conditions and events such as more catastrophic storms, colder winter, the melting of polar ice caps, rising sea levels. Another natural complication that needs our attention is the ever increasing rate of deforestation happening due to forest fire as well as human intensive agricutural and industrial activities. This is one of the direct causes for growing air pollution, which creates a varitety of respiratory health issues, and soil erosion, which eventually leads to stronger floods. Moreover, these two problems also contribute to species loss so it makes perfect sense to try to solve them. Thus, I believe that bio-diversity degradation is only one of many current environmental problems that demand global attention and cooperation.

In conlusion, although the disappearances of many species worldwide pose as a severe challenge for mankind, there are still other critical environmental obstacles that we have to pay equal attention to and work together at a global scale to solve.