Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is undoubtedly that our world is facing a variety of environmental issues such as global warming, greenhouse gases, acid rain, air pollution, deforestation and so on. While I agree that the disappearance of several flora and fauna is a serious problem, I believe other environmental problems should also be concerned.

Many people argued that the loss of some plants and animals cause devastating consequences. Firstly, lots of plants and animals are still principal food sources in many developing countries. Therefore, the loss of these species may affect many people, especially those who live in remote areas. Secondly, such plants and animals are interrelated, therefore, the loss of one species and lead to the loss of other species. For instance, many of the fish and marine life will die if the coral dies.

On the other hand, I support the idea that there are more serious environmental issues. Take air pollution as an example. Emissions from vehicles and factories may create serious health problems to humans such as lung cancer and respiratory diseases. What's more, global warming is exacerbating the situation. That is to say, when the heat waves, droughts and floods associated with climate change become more frequent and more intense, all living things suffer. For example, the natural habitat of polar bears is threatened seriously in the incidence of the melting ice and risen sea level.

In conclusion, although the decrease of plants and animals is a serious problem, I am of the opinion that other environmental problems should also be considered.