Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals, others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The decrease in the variety of flora and fauna on our planet Earth is argued by some people to be the major environmental problem at this time. While others say there are more important environmental problems to be considered such as climate change, pollution, or deforestation. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favor of the latter

It is undeniable that every specie in this world has a particular role to maintain the natural habitat for life on Earth. A prime example is how trees, particularly fruit trees, rely on bees and other insects for pollination, which leads to the production of fruit for other animals to consume. Without bees, the entire food chain can be disrupted, leading to a sudden decline in the numbers of other species by starvation. The balance of the ecosystem depends a lot on biodiversity.

On the other hand, I'm on the same page with those proponents who argued that there are more serious environmental problems to solve first. One of the most typical problems is deforestation, the removal of trees and plants for human activities such as logging, mining, agriculture, and infrastructure development causing the shrink in the size of living space for animals and plants. Therefore, creating a mass extinction of living organisms, ruining the biodiversity. Furthermore, the loss of trees could cause erosion, landslide, and floods which directly affect human life, and destroy man-made infrastructures. It is clear that, in order to improve the environmental conditions, the focus lens should shift to deforestation.

In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions about the best method of improving the environmental aspects, I believe the most appropriate approach is to reduce deforestation.