It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

When and how children should be raised have always been a controversial issue. It is claimed that teaching children to distinguish between right and wrong is imperative to be done at an early age and punishment is an effective instrument to help this. It appears this idea is rational and a number of punishment seems to be possible.

There is a universal consensus that at an early age, a child's character has not been shaped yet and is like a blank paper which anything can be written on more easily and quickly. Hence, if parents begin to nurture their children as early as possible, they can teach them good behavior more quickly. In addition, not all bad behavior has the same level of inappropriateness. For example, theft is far more inappropriate than making fun of an individual. Thus, to teach a child the inappropriacy of a deed, they should be penalized when children carry out wrong behavior.

Turning to the possible penalties, perhaps the most workable punishment that can be adopted by parents is that they ought to consider depriving children of their favorite hobbies or interests. Since they are immensely enthusiastic to do their recreations, this would be a practical deterrent. Moreover, as children spend a considerable part of their times at school, teachers had better employ some types of punishment. It seems that because children are sensitive about their scores, penalties which influence their scores would be considerably effective. In other words, if teachers reduced them for any bad behavior which they might do, they would ultimately found out what they had done was wrong.

In conclusion, for a child to have decent upbringing, parents should consider their nurture at an early age and the role of punishment must not be neglected. Both hobby-oriented and score-oriented penalties would be suitable.