Some people say that too much time and resources are spent on the protection of wild animals and birds. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

it is believed that there has been an excessive use of time and resources for the preservation of animals in a wilderness. Although it is true that these animals need to be protected, a vast proportion of humans’ effort should be put into preventing other major environmental problems, such as climate change.

Undeniably, an increasing number of exotic species, ranging from fairly to extremely rare, being driven to extinction are in need of serious protection from humans. Currently, such fauna by and large resides in remote or nondescript areas, such as savannas in Africa where the quality of local people’s life is extremely poor. Such abject poverty often compels the locals to poach rare species for monetary rewards. Consequently, should local governments and global animal rights organizations fail to allocate resources for the deterrence of illegal hunting activities, these animals will certainly be extinct. More importantly, losses of certain animals would have repercussions on humans. For example, the appreciable drops in predators, such as leopards, mean uncontrollable increases in rodent species that can cause severe damages to crops.

However, preserving wild animals should not be our highest priority as global issues, such as climate change are threating the existence of entire species on this planet. Explosive growth of industrial sector as well as the unabated expansion of residential areas have resulted in dramatic emission of harmful chemicals, such as Nitric Oxide. Moreover, the volume of such effluents is ever-increasing and are difficult to safely dissolve. Therefore, were we unable to utilize all our resources for adopting new green energy in industries and successfully eliminate the detrimental effects of dangerous substances being released, there would be a higher frequency of natural hazards. As a result, Holocene extinction could be inevitable, as suggested by many scientists.

in conclusion, despite the importance of saving endangered species, it is of note that a huge amount of our resources should also be reserved for the prevention of climate change.