Some people say that travelling abroad is necessary to get knowledge about other countries, while others suggest that TV and the internet can also help people know about foreign countries. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the process of globalisation, many people reckon traveling abroad as an essential way to experience exotic life. However, some people argue that mass media such as television or the Internet is also an acceptable way to learn foreign cultures other than traveling. I will analyse both of their opinions in this essay and conclude my own viewpoints.

On the one hand, it is undoubtedly that traveling abroad is the direct and effective method to learn foreign cultures. To begin with, one could totally immerse himself into the original life by traveling to their destination. For example, by visiting the markets, they can learn local residents' eating preferences, living cost and daily life. These direct experiences cannot be replaced by any words or images from the Internet. Besides, some tourists can communicate with local people to understand their up-to-date ideas, which is beneficial to know more about these countries. Compared with that, information from mass media seems to be a bit outdated.

On the other hand, it is not easy for everyone to travel abroad due to a lot of reasons. Firstly, while the multinational transportation has developed rapidly and offered convenience in recent years, there are still a huge amount of people cannot afford a long-distance plane ticket. Taking China's figure as an instance, there are still approximately 1 billion people never been abroad until now. Furthermore, in these years, people are too busy to have sufficient vacation time to travel to other countries, which is more obvious in developing countries. For those people who want to know more about foreign countries, searching information about their ideal destinations from the Internet or watching documentaries from TV is a compensatory plan to satisfy their curiosities.

In conclusion, my idea is that traveling abroad is definitely an effective way to learn other countries, but it by no means the only way. Although the effect may be a bit discounted by learning from the media, it is still a practical way for those who cannot go abroad temporarily.