Some people say that what children watch influences their behavior. Others believe the amount of time they spend on television influences their behavior most. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the advance of media industry, television now provides a variety of shows that are available for all ages, especially for the children viewers. Thus, there is an argument that whether the contents on the TV have more impacts or the time kids spend on watching television influences their behavior most. In my opinion, I believe the two views are both correct in some extents.

On the one hand, the contents on TV do have a big impact on kid’s behavior. In young ages, children do not have the ability to develop behavior by themselves. In fact, they imitate what they see on the TV screen. Therefore, the change of their behavior could be influenced by the quality of television shows. For example, when kids watch a good musical on TV, they adapt a new hobby to learn to sing because they want to imitate exactly what is appealing to them on the screen. In contrast, if kids are allowed to view violent TV shows, they could develop such aggressive behavior towards the others.

On the other hand, a large amount of time watching TV is also a big influence on children’s behavior. Firstly, kids could develop the habit of laziness by watching TV for a long time. A lot of parents complaint that their children do not want to stop after a long time sitting in front of the TV. Such habit influence kids to put aside other important tasks or assignments. Secondly, spending too much time on TV may directly damage the children’s eyesight which can lead to the change of other behavior. For instance, when kids cannot see objects clearly, they will try to glance closer by changing their sitting poses which could make their problems worse.

In conclusion, I believe it cannot be decided whether the television content or the amount of time watching TV is a more important factor because both are greatly impinging on the change of the kids’ behavior.