Some people say that what children watch influences their behaviour. Others believe the amount of time they spend on television influences their behaviour most. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a controversial issue over whether children’s behaviour is influenced by television content or long screen time. While an excessive exposure to television exerts adverse impacts on the behaviour of children, I suppose that there are manifold downsides of harmful content on television.

It stands to reason that watching TV for a long time brings several detrimental effects to youngsters. Firstly, spending a huge amount of time staring at a screen would give rise to some health issues such as obese or optical disorders. An explanation is that hardly do children have a chance to get involved in outdoor activities and physical exercises which plays an integral part in their physical development. Secondly, excessive screen time would deprive teenagers of the opportunity to interact with others. As a result, young individuals might have difficulties in expanding their social circle as well as expressing their ideas.

On the other hand, there is little room for doubt that harmful contents would be detrimental to the youth. First, there is an uncontrolled growth of unhealthy contents which put the formative years of childhood in jeopardy. This can be illustrated the fact that there are an excessive number of television programmes which encompass scenes of violence, sex, even crime. Furthermore, unhealthy television contents enable to pave the way for children’s rule-breaking behaviours, unexpectedly criminal behaviours. Because children are extremely curious and vulnerable, it is possible for them to imitate what they see without thinking.

In conclusion, although the disadvantages of spending a long time watching TV are obvious, I subscribe to the opinion that unhealthy information on television puts youngsters’ behaviour at stake.