Some people say that what children watch influences their behavior. Others believe the amount of time they spend on television influences their behavior most. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that whether the length of time children spend on television may affect their behavior or the content of the program on television would influence their behavior most is a subject of debate. While reason can be given to justify the former, I am in favor of the latter.

On the one hand, there are strong reasons to think that the amount of time student spend on television affects their behavior. Firstly, watching television too much is a contributing factor influencing children’s health because if children become over-reliant on the television, they may face with sleeping and digestive disorders. For example, regardless of having headache and stomachache, my sister has still watched television at the same time with having dinner for 2 years. Secondly, in lieu of going outside with friends, children will neglect engagement in outdoor activities that result in the sedentary lifestyle. Finally, only when children become addicted to watching television, not only do they feel discouraged from having real interaction with people around them, but also they may find it hard to live in harmony with others and cannot meet the need of the development of social skills.

On the other hand, others would argue that the content of the program on television would influence children’s behavior most. The first prominent justification is that many programs on televisions may contain inappropriate materials such as violence, sex casual, and drug abuse, thus children will adopt the unhealthy lifestyle and cannot achieve a sense of satisfaction. For instance, my cousin used to utilize alcohol drinks when he was 12 years old since he thought that was fashionable as the advertisement on television. Furthermore, the more programs children watch, the more tired the can get owing to the fact that they will not concentrate on other important things. In addition, commercials also affect children behave that means young viewers could be easily swayed by advertisements for junk food or video games so their parents will buy them impulsively.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, although the length of time children spend on television may affect their behavior, it seems to me that the content of the program on television would influence their behavior most.