Some people say that what children watch on TV influences their behaviour while others say the amount of time children they spend watching Tv influences their behaviour. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people suggest that how much time children spend watching television does not affect their behaviour, but rather the content of what they watch, while others disagree. Personally, I think that both of these factors have an impact on a child's behaviour and this essay will discuss bad influences that both bring.

It is clear that preschoolers are unable to distinguish between the right and the wrong, so it is not difficult to understand when they easily access inappropriate contents that have been allowed to be televised. In other words, TV programmes and commercials these days are full of graphic violence, sex scenes and sexual connotations. These things cause some mental impairments, misconception and inappropriate behaviours in preschoolers. In addition, children have the tendency to imitate what is depicted on the screen, paired with the lack of parents' timely guidance and frequent observation. Violence in movies, for example, shows children poor examples of manner, increase their crime rate in the future.

On the other hand, keeping kids glued to the television screen all day has a negative effect on their thinking and behaviour. TV programs are incapable of forming children's perception without their repetition, there is an idiom sentence" Rome was not built in a day", the influence of TV on children is a gradual and continuous process. As a result, the more children watch TV, the more significant the effect is on their personality and behaviours. Furthermore, serious different issues will also happen when they pay too much attention to TV shows. Firstly, the reduction in interaction with family members and the outside world. Secondly, children may be isolated due to insufficient participation in outdoor activities, that are reasons leading to unconfidence in children or even the risk of autism.

In conclusion, I believe that both what children watch and the amount of time they use to face the TV screen can harm their behaviours. To help children comprehensively develop both behaviorally and mentally, parents should choose the appropriate programs, limit TV time and encourage their kids to join in physical activities.