To some people studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to do so? What will the effect if children are not taught history?

Nowadays, there is a controversial issue as to the role of studying the past. Meanwhile, some people argue that it is obsolescent to apply past practices into the contemporary world, I suppose that encouraging individuals to study history is of great importance. Moreover, there will be many negative impacts on our society if history is not compulsory in the curriculum.

It is clearly seen that studying history has several benefits. The main benefit is that history offers a warehouse of information about how people and societies functioned. Hence, through studying historical periods, individuals and organizations can be given insights into various aspects of life such as the technological innovations, the role of religions, or the development of different civilizations. Another advantage of history is that it provides an extensive evidential base whereby we might analyze changes and find many explanations for the situations we confront today.

However, it is safe to say that our society can be severely affected if children are discouraged from studying history. Specifically, a citizen without fundamental knowledge of national history is more unlikely to understand national values and a commitment to the national loyalty. As a result, a country with such citizens will possibly be in danger when it faces a diplomatic dilemma.

In conclusion, I would argue that studying history has many positive effects nowadays, and it is crucial for history to be placed more emphasis on all educational settings.