Some people think that all the university students should study whatever they like. others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Tertiary education plays an important role in students' life for building their career. It has been considered by some people that pupil should given a chance to choose subjects as per their choice while, other believe that, they should be taught all the subjects which are beneficial for them in their later life. This essay will shed light on both the views as well as discuss my opinion.

There are several reasons behind the fact that learners should be allowed to choose subjects according to their interest because there is a great difference in learning when students learn what they like and when they are forced to learn any particular skill. If, pupils can study the subjects of their interest at universities then, they can learn the subjects deeply and without any pressure. So, they can understand the things in a better way, despite of getting stressed out. In this way, they pupils can become proficient in a particular field and can adopt that path as their career.

On the other hand, some think that all the important subjects should be taught to the learners because it helps them in their holistic development. As each subject has their own significance, for instance, history helps people to stay in touch with their traditions and culture, science can help them to learn the various truths about the existence of life and space exploration, computations are required in daily activities while paying bills or calculating taxes, and computers which is an emerging technology in all the fields, hence essential to learn.

To conclude, although, studying only particular of interest has merits but studying all the subjects have much more benefits as they help students to gain vast knowledge in various domains and I believe that if pupils have learnt variety of subjects then, they can select any one of them according to the demand of industry to pursue as their career.