Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

What subject university students should be allowed to study continues to be controversial. While some people argue that it is better for students to choose subject areas that are valuable in the future, I believe that everyone should be at the liberty to pursue the major of their choice.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people opine that universities should restrict students to certain key subject areas. The main reason is the future employability of graduates. It can be argued that university courses like science and technology will not only open up a variety of job opportunities but also improve their career prospects. Another reason is because of future long-term economic growth, government investments in innovation are at new heights. Particular university subjects, therefore, seem likely within the context of current societal values, assuring greater future prosperity.

On the other hand, a section of society argues that students should be free to choose a field of study that they are passionate about. To begin with, if forced to study an unwanted major, students cannot best cultivate their aptitudes and give/deliver satisfactory academic performance. Even worse, some withdraw from their studies without earning a degree, and it is a complete waste of time and money. Furthermore, if employees are pressurised to do a job not related to their preferred areas of study, it would produce undesirable outcomes, especially resentment and negative attitudes at work. Also, it is difficult for employers to prevent job-hopping and reduce employee turnover. Finally, nobody can really predict which areas of knowledge will be highly demanding in the future because the world is growing and changing at a rapid pace. Industries that are relevant today may be gone tomorrow and replaced with entirely new fields of work.

In conclusion, while it may seem sensible to force students to study subjects that are currently viewed as useful, I prefer the current system in which people should be entitled to pursue the course of their choice.