As well as making money, business also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold the view that apart from generating profits, enterprises should have social obligations. I completely agree with the idea that businesses should contribute more to society than simply make money.

On the one hand, it is justifiable that companies should focus on the priority of making money. Earning a profit is important to a business because profitability impacts whether a company can secure financing from a bank, attract investors to fund its operations and grow its business. Moreover, if companies want to get ahead of their competitors and to meet the changing needs of customers, they need to invest more in research and development. This is not to mention marketing budgets used to improve brand awareness and to reinforce brand identity in customers’ minds. Therefore, only if a company survives in a competitive world can it make a positive contribution to society.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why companies should not operate solely for profit. One social responsibility that owners have is to pay tax on their income instead of exploiting tax loopholes to maximize profits as a way to contribute to society. Second, since many business operations have been damaging the fragile environment such as the disposal of untreated industrial waste in bodies of water, they should work towards a zero environmental footprint. For example, they could install water treatment systems to remove impurities from wastewater before they reach aquifers or rivers. Finally, corporations should engage in philanthropic pursuits helping the less fortunate, which will project more attractive images to both consumers and shareholders alike.

In conclusion, I believe that companies should give equal emphasis on financial objectives and social responsibilities.