Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, the phenomenon of choosing the field of study in universities and its corresponding impacts have sparked a massive dispute. In this regard, apart from various advantages of studying favorite disciplines, others believe that students have to study such fields as science and technology which they will be more practical in modern communities of the future. In my view, allowing students to select their favorite fields of study can benefit them far more in terms of psychology and the discovery of their talents, while we shouldn’t lose sight of naysayers’ opinions.

Obviously, students who have the opportunities to pursue their preferred fields in the university feel more confident and show higher degrees of self-esteem than their counterparts. Psychology speaking, the study of specific courses paves the way to reach achievements. In other words, picking favorite subjects by students to follow their interests makes them to be far more responsible about their own decisions. Subsequently, they attempt to do their best to prove that they make the right selection about subjects.

Moreover, universities should allow students to follow their beloved subjects of study based on talents. It is one of main duties of universities to uncover abilities of gifted students and support these would-be geniuses to study whatever they prefer. Under these circumstances, the authorities could expect the talents of students will flourish, thus this process leads to develop experts and scientist in not far distant future.

On the other hand, a number of people are of the opinion that students solely must study in stem disciplines for instance science and technology. They believe that these fields are more likely to be useful for mankind in the future. As a tangible example, around underdeveloped countries, various parents compel their teenagers to study medicine or engineering due to higher income. What’s more, making a balance at university major disciplines regarding to the number of students is another aspect that the critics take into account.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on both sides, I am inclined to support the idea that the merits of being free to study whatever students like far outweigh its downsides. Imagine, what do you feel about trying to learn fishes to climb trees rather than leaving them into sees?!