Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

It is controversial whether students should be free to follow their hearts or be forced to study practical subjects in the future. I personally support the idea that everyone should be able to study the course of their choice.

On the one hand, universities should only offer key areas of study which is useful in the future because of their social and personal benefits. From a social perspective, focusing on science and technology in higher education can lead to well-educated engineers, doctors, and scientists who create everlasting impacts for our society. Without those, a country may be bounded to progress their society because of the lack of innovative inventions. On a personal level, in today's industrialization market, these courses might provide more career opportunities for students. With a high level in science and technology segments, it is potential for them to obtain a good job with better salaries

On the other hand, it would be better for students to opt for their interests due to their motivations and unpredictable future. Firstly, students are more likely to be motivated when they study the subject of their choice. Striving for areas they are truly curious about could make them more independent and go beyond the required academic material. As a result, their academic outcomes will be improved. Secondly, it is hard to predict exactly the future, specifically, what areas of knowledge will be more helpful. For example, if some employers prefer to hire well soft-skill staff rather than those who are skillful in science or technology, we will need more students of art and philosophy.

In conclusion, concentrating only on science and technology may be a prospect for students’ future. However, it is better for students to have their own right to study the subject they are passionate about.