Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, there is a belief that universities should entitle students to design their curriculum without being forced to choose subjects. This has met with strong opposition from others, who assert that students must study subjects based on their future career prospect, especially science-based subjects.

Since globalization and the explosive movement of technology in the 21st century, there has been a growing demand for skilled workers to quench the thirst of the global population, possibly accomplished with prior training closely related to future employment. This explains for the popularity of vocational courses in recent years, as they are adapted to providing learners with necessary skills for their future in the developing world. Developing a solid foundation for a student’s career prospect also secures their employability later on, particularly due to the intense competition in the job markets.

From another perspective, those relishing the idea of the liberating educational system believe that this leads to flexibility in the job-seeking process and chances to pursue personal interests. To illustrate, a student who majors in one discipline may develop a passion for another, such as artistry or technology. Upon his graduation, this student will have already attained a decent set of skills in both disciplines, subsequently adding another job to his list of part-time or full-time employment. This also gives birth to more freedom and opportunities for future pursuit, however in the form of a profession.

There is a decent amount of reason that concludes why I agree on the first ideology presented here. Even though freedom vindicated liberating education, securing a stable position is crucial as the job markets have become perceivably competitive and widespread unemployment has raised concerns in several countries. After all, the future should be protected with a solid profession, rather than by two or three jobs which are probably not as reliable as they seem.