Some people think that the best way to ensure road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is an increased concern toward traffic safety especially which age is the most suitable age for people to have driver licenses. While I agree that higher threshold of age should be set for people who want to drive cars or ride motorbikes, I would argue that there are other aspects to consider to enhance road safety.

To begin with, it is understandable why many people support the policy to increase the minimum legal age for controlling vehicles for some reasons. Firstly, since the more people become mature the more they develop both physically and mentally, they are more likely to understand traffic laws and responsible for others’ safety when driving. As a result, the number of traffic accidents can be greatly minimized. Secondly, as controlling motorbikes or cars requires controllers to have enough strength which is less likely to enough in the youngster. Therefore, a higher age should be set to make sure that individuals are mature physically enough to drive. For example, it is expectable for high school students to ride scooters however if they want to ride motorbikes which are much heavier they have to wait until 20 years old.

However, I would argue that other aspects also play an important role in protecting people when driving. Initially, because controlling vehicles requires fast reflex when an incidence happens, the ability to process and distance vision is also crucial. In addition, height, weight, and etc. need to be met, psychological assessment must be done before drive test. If a person is consider to be old enough to drive but his or her mental illness could not be recorded, this poses some threats for other people on the road. Secondly, educating citizens to obey traffic laws by popularizing them though social media, news and school curriculums is an economical and effective way. Finally, the government can invest more money on upgrading and maintenance of transportation infrastructure.

In conclusion, while I accept that the higher minimum legal age to drive can ensure the road safety to some extent, I believe that this is not the most important factor to help riders and drivers more safer.