Some people think that the best way to make road transport safer is to make vehicle drivers take a driving test every year. Agree or disagree?

Many people argued that the best way to secure road transportation is by taking a driving license annually. Personally, I partly disagree with this view.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people believe that testing the ability of driving is the optimum way to improve the safety of road transportation. The principal reason for this is that driving exams often increase the awareness of safe traffic with its tremendous impact on other people's lives. Take car accidents, for example, most accidents result from non-licensed drivers who lack certainty while driving. A driving license can be a key factor in improving how people travel by vehicles carefully. As a result, the security when driving will increase in how people transport daily.

On the other hand, I am convinced that the annual driving test is not the optimum solution to improve the security on the road as there are many other ways to solve this issue. Firstly, in order to reduce the percentage of accidents, governments should publish traffic regulations restrictedly by raising the penalties to a higher level. Take drunk-driver, for example, they should be arrested and fined a half-year period in jail for breaking a law. This may influence how civilians are considerate if they try to break the rules. Moreover, drivers can also be forced to work in morgues where they placed dead people in car accidents; this helps them realize deeply about the tragedy they may face if they committed an accident. As a result, this unforgettable experience will influence positively people's consciousness for a long time.

In conclusion, I believe that having a driving test periodically can improve road safety. However, it is not the best way to reduce traffic accidents as there are various solutions that can be created to tackle this problem.