Some people think that cars should be banned from large cities. To
what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?
In the last few decades, whether the policy enforcement of car restriction in the major
city is applied or not is an issue that gives rise to endless controversy. Owing to the
negative sides of banning cars in the metropolis, some people argue that the number of
cars should not be restricted in the metropolitan areas. In my opinion, clamping down on
cars brings a variety of benefits for the following reasons: improving well-being and
benefiting the environment.
First and foremost, it seems likely that banning cars in major cities helps to improve
city dwellers’ health. It is often the case that car restrictions offer residents, who usually
sustain a sedentary lifestyle, an opportunity to be in better physical health. These days,
citizens have a tendency to be stuck behind the desk, which might result in a high risk of
obesity. However, shutting off to all cars seems to be an effective solution to this issue.
When any governments apply the enforcement of car restriction, urban dwellers are
encouraged to cycle or walk to school, their workplaces, etc, which enable them to have
a more active lifestyle to reduce the high rate of obesity in major cities. Moreover,  it is
generally believed that improving mental illness is one of the significant advantages of
shutting off all cars. There is no doubt that it is a strong link between traffic noise and
depression in adults or asthma attacks in children. Cities, which has turned many of their
streets into car-free walkways and cycleways, are likely to provide residents with higher
air quality, so those who live in the metropolis are offered an opportunity to reduce
respiratory diseases risks. Furthermore, banning cars in dense urban areas tackles noise
pollution and reduces road accidents leading to premature deaths.
More significantly, it is clear that closing off to all non-essential vehicles improves the
quality of residents life. In the first place, it is clear that banning cars converses the
environment. Burning fossil fuels in cars release carbon dioxide, which is the largest
source of greenhouse gas emissions. As these gases build up, they trap heat in the
atmosphere, causing climate change and leading to catastrophic disasters. Evidence is
mounting that vehicle pollution, which includes nitrogen oxides, shoot and carbon
monoxide, is one of the main reasons for global warming, which poses a threat to those
who live in major cities. Furthermore, clamping down on cars also let us radically
reshape the city landscape and make them more people-friendly. In a sprawling city,
space freed up can be repurposed for other activities such as playgrounds, markets and
community events.
Those who are against car restrictions may insist that barring electric vehicles
adversely affects economic development. When cars are restricted, shops and businesses
would be force to close as poor access to them would drive away customers who would
instead visit supermarkets and malls outside the centre. The close of the workplace may
deprive a livelihood of employers and make them unemployed, which puts heavy
pressure on the government’s budget.
To sum up, banning cars in metropolitan is necessary. From what have been
discussed above, shutting off to cars in major city brings several advantages such as
improving well-being and upgrading the quality of inhabitants life.