Some people think that children’s free time must include educational activities otherwise they will waste their time.

What is your opinion?

Different from some decades ago, today children’s time is structured in a logical way on purpose of enhancing their study performance and lifestyle standard. It is generally believed that without integrating educational activities in their spare time, children will waste their time, and I somehow agree with this viewpoint.

To begin with, children are too young to schedule their lifetime themselves. Although there are many people arguing that children should be free to enjoy their childhood, scientists prove that what they do in their nursery time play a crucial role in their later success. Youngsters playing educational games such as role play or quizzes tend to be more self-controlled, which is a really beneficial life skill. With their parents’ help, children can be well-prepared for their future.

Furthermore, doing educational activities does not take all children’s time but brings them more fun. Not only does incorporating these activities with a reasonable level diversify their daily routine, it also gives them more opportunities to come into contact with other peers and discover themselves. Meanwhile, enjoying pastime freely with no criteria, there are chances children can be spoilt by harmful activities they might join, which they cannot recognize because of their lack of knowledge.

In short, all children should be free to enjoy their childhood. However, due to their inexperience, parents’ interference such as including some educational activities is necessary and significant, but in a controlled and well-establish way, to ensure their normal development. For these reasons above, I surely encourage children to have activities for educational purposes for their own benefits.