Nowadays more tasks at home and work are being performed by robots. Is this a negative or positive development?

It is observed that modern tasks both at home as well as work are completed progressively more by robots. This is ultimately a beneficial development, as will be elucidated in the following essay.

Discussing the positives of having the aid of robots and other automated machines at work, proponents tend to highlight their contribution to eliminating human errors and elevating consequent work quality. This could be exemplified by the use of robots to collect samples from dangerous environments such as erupting volcanoes or the installment of programmed robot arms along an automobile production line. Understandably, the high performance of automation threatens workers’ job security. While replacement is likely, the transition tends to be gradual, allowing both businesses and workers to adapt. This also revolutionizes the workforce, which would shift the focus to solving more challenging problems such as aging population and green energy.

Aside from the aforementioned gain, living standards are also heightened by the presence of robots. Thanks to them, chores could be completed and security is enhanced without requiring human input. Dumbo, for instance, is an increasingly popular robot that is utilized to pick up litter and clean floors. With the relief of certain domestic tasks, there come worries that people will become less active and less autonomous. However, this argument fails to take into consideration that the newly available free time could be decisively invested in exercise and leisure pursuits, which are fulfilling in their own right.

In brief, it is in my conviction that integrating robots into households and workplaces is a positive trend, ultimately resulting in the more effective use of the labor force and higher quality of life.