Some people think that drug addicts should be treated as criminals and sent to jail, while others believe that they should be treated as patients and sent hospitals.

Many people believe that the best punishment for drug addicts is being sentenced to jail. While this is acceptable, I believe it is fairer if they are hospitalized for a better option.

On one side, sending drug users to prison would cause a deterrent effect, reducing the number of perpetrators. They would be more considerate about their decision on consuming drugs if they do not want to spend their life in jail. A survey done by the FBI in 2019 toward the numbers of drug addicts in 50 states in the United States showed that lower drug consumers were found in the states that have the regulation of imprisoning drug addicts. However, this would not prevent the perpetrators from not taking drugs again after being released.

Nonetheless, having the addicts hospitalized would give them the chance to fully recover from the addiction which will prevent them from using drugs in the future. This is because most drug junkies are prone to have broken brain cells that caused them an addiction. If this can be cured, they will have full control over themselves to live without drugs. A study done by NCBI in 2007 towards 500 rehabilitated drug addicts in Minnesota found that up to 98% of them had never touched drugs again since the last day of rehabilitation. This is because the hippocampus in the brain has fully recovered from addiction. Thus, I am convinced this school of thought is preferable to increasing the number of drug users.

To conclude, although imprisoning drug addicts would give them deterrent effects, nevertheless, this can not ensure those addicts to take another drug in the future. Rehabilitation in hospitals is preferable to make them model citizens again. Both options should be taken into consideration.