It is better to learn the way people lived in the past through films and video records than written documents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People can learn history in many ways. Some people think that it is better to know the past based on films and video files compared to written historical accounts. Well, both video and written documentation can provide information on people’s lives in the past, however, in my opinion, the better way to keep track of people’s past life is still through written statements or documents.

Undoubtedly, there is more information that can be learned through written records. Firstly, there are many printed materials available such as books, biographies, and letters. In the past, for instance, individuals communicate through letters, others write their experiences in their diaries, and other records their observation on journals. Thus with more materials to study the past, there is more information that can be extracted. Secondly, written documents are clearer and more substantial. This is true as in the case of handwritten letters that were done by people who lived before the technology existed. With this form of documentation, emotions and thoughts were captured through written language, thus understanding people in the past deeper.

However, there may be claims that some historical accounts were written subjectively and might be biased. People who believe this argue that videos are more objective than written context. This may be true but then some information is limited to videos. Also, films are sometimes exaggerated and manipulated to make it more appealing to viewers. With these drawbacks of video documentation, people can have a different representation of the past. At times, written data might be subjective but it can capture more real-life stories than video records and films.

To conclude, there are many ways to learn about people’s past life. Both written and video documentation can be helpful in understanding history. However, I believe that a written document is more credible and detailed in providing facts and stories of human history.