Some People think that family has an influence on child's development, while others think that there are many factors that influence child such as television, music and friends.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, It is important to consider that who affect more on child's development. It is thought by some people that family has an influence on child's skill, whereas others argue that other factors such as entertainment media and friends influence more since children spend most of the time with this factors than family. I agree with the latter view.

In the 21st century, it is difficult for parents to survive in cut-throat competition. As a result, parents have to work, and consequently, there is an improper nourishment for developing their offspring's intellectual and cognitive skills. To illustrate this, A recent study by the leading newspaper The Times shows that seven out of ten students are not able to perform basic skills which they do not learn from their parents due to a busy timetable. Therefore, in this era, parents have the least time for their child which leads to lesser child development.

On the other hand, because lack of parent's guide adolescent has to emerge themselves with the television or music or with their friends. It is often time seen that many children learn basic skills from those factors which they have to obtain from their parents. For instance, a discovery channel programme shows that how to count with the help of fruits, vegetables and animals. By watching this, children can develop their conceptual skill which is a basic of any other skills. From the above example, it can be said that children spend more time with those factors than a family which leads to more influence on them.

In conclusion, due to competitive era parents have not enough time to spend with their children because of the above reason. I personally believe that friends and entertainment media have a greater influence on a child's development because they spend more time with those factors.