Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

It is believed that there should be a study break for students to have a thirst for adventure before enrolling at university. This essay will discuss both pros and cons of both approaches in the following paragraphs.

Undeniably, there are multifarious advantages of spending a year working or travelling before going to university, but the main benefit is that they can get practical exposure which will help them to be an eye-opener in the field they pay attention to. it is because they can learn problem-solving skills and also devote more time to hone academic knowlegdes. As a result, they can learn important skills to be better prepared for their future career. For example, a recent survey illustrates that the percentage of youngsters have been increasing steadily who prefer to challenge themselves by doing a task or visiting other nations to discover a new thing before entering tertiary education.

On the other hand, one main drawback of this aspect is that they feel easily left out. For this reason, provided that they are the only one in their friendship group taking a year-off, they will be aware that their friends are moving on without them so that it will lead to the “peer pressure” phenomena. For instance, people who are one year behind everyone, might feel they are stuck in place because they are graduating later and starting full-time work later. that can create immense depression and boredom for them.

In conclusion, although the midterm experience between the school and the university gives them access to more and better job opportunities, it may result in hindrances towards a goal. Therefore, a learning exposure is an a crucial way to follow up their life’s target.