Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Some advocate the view that it is beneficial for the host nation of a world-wide athletic competition while others believe that holding such events may be problematic by several financial and social drawbacks. The following essay will examine both sides of the issue prior to my opinion.

For the most part, international sports events can effectively boost one country’s tourism to another level. Firstly, innumerable spectators will be expected to board in the venue to witness sensational matches and splurge their spendings to experience an exotic culture. It is the economy that will be significantly contributed along with the most positive impressions will be presented to the rest of the globe during the event. Secondly, if it hadn’t for broadcasting purposes of the games, the organizers would not have achieved a lucrative income from commercials. So advantageous are the multicontinent events that the countries wish to conduct must be strictly qualified in terms of infrastructure and human resources.

At the mean time, organizing a highly anticipated sports event may contain specific underlying challenges regarding finance and the exposure of negative social problems. First and foremost, with many larger than life qualifications to ensure, the organizer have to invest a grand amount of money to facilitate. Brand new multimillion-dollar amenities such as stadiums, halls and arenas which can exceed the budget. It could be an unnecessary burden which amplifies the existing financial pressure. As the positive side being ostentatiously shown, the negative aspects may also be exposed such as poverty, segregations and political issues. A prominent instance is that some conducting nations have received harsh criticism from general public for abundantly spending years of people’s tax on short term competitions instead of addressing their internal pressing problems.

In conclusion, hosting an international sports event is noticeably profitable in many aspects as long as the country’s resources are in an appropriate status, otherwise it may result in serve repercussions that eclipse the foreseen benefits.