Some people think that it is effective for students to study in a group at school, while others think it is better to study alone. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided as to how students should work in groups or solve problems by themselves at school. Many argue that teamwork study can bring more advantages; others, however, hold that self-study is better for students. In this essay, I will discuss both these views and show why I am in favor of both views.

On the one hand, it is understandable that it is beneficial for students to study with others as a group. One reason for this is that individuals are able to increase their ability to communicate with others effectively. Teamwork allows people to share information as well as experiences for process improvement purposes. Take group presentation, for example, students are able to improve their verbal interaction as presentation requires them to be adaptable with various situations as well as answering questions. As a result, group work trains students to be cooperative as well as improve the efficiency of their work-task. Also, students are aware of respecting others' opinion as people’s opinions are not always correct. This can be a positive development for their character.

On the other hand, I am also convinced that self-study has the same positive effect as cooperating with others. Firstly, it is much better for students to maximize their concentration as studying with others may sometimes get distracted. This will improve the efficiency as well as shorten the amount of time for their work-task. Secondly, the independence ability can also be enhanced. Students will be able to solve problems by their own without relying on other teammates. Take straight-A student, for example, self-study trains them to tackle difficult situations easier than the unfocused student. As a result, independent students are able to self-directed their careers in the future.

In conclusion, although group study brings benefits for students at school, I also believe that self-study has the same effectiveness.