The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

It is true that the disappearance of family traditional meal is happening. This essay will discuss some reasons behind this issue and discuss some effects that it could have on family life and health.

To begin with, the issue can be attributed to a number different factors. The primary would be the economic pressures that parents encounter as they are not able to balance their company-work and house-work in a single day. This might be because of the large amount of company task that parents have to face which cause a lot of time to finish. For example, in families with working mother, it is impossible to arrange times to visit out-door market and prepare a meal when they have to work 8 hours per day. Another contributing factor to this could be the parents pampered behavior with their children as they allow them to have their meal in front of the TV or sitting in front of the computer without any face-to-face interaction. It is understandable that parents always want the best thing for their child; however, this action may cause some negative impacts.

There are a range of problems when the family traditional meal disappears. The main problem is that it will be much more difficult in shaping children’s personality during their formative years as parents cannot spend enough time to understand their behaviors and characteristics. Family mealtimes are critical because these are a time for family members to share news, give guidance and discuss about plans; without it, children mentality will be affected. It has been shown that, children without having meal without family faces some troubles communicating with other people as well as expressing their emotion. Another issue is that children cannot have enough energy as their parents cannot control their diet. Children can easily to have obesity which often result from not having a balanced diet. Family meals can be a chance to provide children a healthier diet by giving them a fresh amount of food.

In conclusion, the above-mentioned facts have outlined the reasons as well as the impacts of this issue, this is a complex matter and there are a number of contributing factors to it. Considering the unwanted effects it may cause, some concerted efforts should be taken soon in order to tackle this issue.