Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football. Other people think that taking part in individual sports like tennis or swimming is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sports are now being divided into two categories: Team sports such as football and individual sports, namely tennis or swimming. Although some people believe that it is more advisable to play individual sports, others adopt a view that the benefit of team sports outweighs that of individual sports. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and explain my choice of the latter.

On the one hand, individual sports can enhance self-reliance and self-regulation. Participating in individual sports raises players’ awareness about the importance of practicing on their own, rectifying their weakness and sharpening their skills to win the game. Moreover, whether it is success or failure, it all belongs to the players’ own. If it is success, the players can experience the joy of winning by themselves. But if the situation is opposite, the players can learn from their failure and strive more for their champion.

On the other hand, team sports teach the players about teamwork. In the match, players will learn how to cooperate with their teammates to beat the other team. Learning to work as a team will also help players to be more cooperative with their partners in their work and life later. Another important justification is that people who take part in team sports can make more friends as well become more extroverted. Interaction with teammates and players from opponent’s team during and after the match will make people more sociable.

In conclusion, both team and individual sports have their own advantages; however, it is more preferable to take part in team sports.